Days 11 & 12 Prepartion Makes Perfect

I don’t have much to report in the way of what we ate this weekend. It wasn’t planned at all and we mostly just snacked on whatever we had left around the house from the week before.

Saturday morning, Jason and I went on a nice walk with Zooey in Giant City. The leaves are really starting to change and it was gorgeous.

WP_001160 (1)WP_001169

WP_001163WP_001171

We did go out on a date and eat at Thai Taste on Saturday night. We both ate as close as we could to the diet. As always, it was delicious! We also went and checked out an art reception at the Varsity. It was called “That House” and was art centered around odd and creepy things in old houses. It was a really small collection but it was really interesting and there were a couple of paintings I would have loved to have bought if I had some extra money laying around.

After not planning very well last week, I realized that we were much more prone to slipping up without proper preparation. This week, I wanted to be better prepared. Yesterday we went grocery shopping in the afternoon. When we got home, I cooked and cooked and……. cooked.

I wanted to make sure we had some easy breakfast and lunch options. I also found an incredible looking recipe for Whole 30 pumpkin bread. Now, I know they say not to make things like breads and pancakes but this recipe was super healthy and I wanted something for breakfast other than eggs and meat. I was skeptical about how it would turn out but it is almost better than my pumpkin bread recipe and is sweetened with dates instead of sugar! Dates may be new favorite thing by the way.

I also made some delicious egg muffins for breakfast this week! Here is the recipe 🙂

Southwestern Egg Muffins

Ingredients

12 eggs

1 lb breakfast sausage

1 onion

1 green pepper

4 baby bella mushrooms

fresh spinach ( I used a handful)

2-4 cloves garlic

1 ts paprika

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a skillet (I use my cast iron), brown your breakfast sausage. Once browned, remove from skillet, reserving as much of the grease as possible in the pan. Dice all of your veggies. If there is not enough grease left to cook the veggies you can add a little olive oil. In the same skillet, sauté your onions and peppers for a few minutes together until they just start to become translucent.

WP_001189

Add in garlic, mushrooms and spinach. Sauté just until spinach is soft and has released some liquid. You don’t want the veggies to be over cooked but just enough that they are starting to soften.

WP_001191

While you allow the ingredients to cool just a bit add the 12 eggs to a large bowl and whisk together. Add paprika and salt and pepper. If you have a nice non-stick muffin pan there is no need for cupcake papers. One of mine was fine without them and one pan was not. haha  Spoon the veggies and sausage into the cups evenly. Next, pour the eggs evenly in each cup and allow to settle. Bake for 25-30 mins or until eggs are set.

WP_001194

I also made homemade mayo and some chicken salad for lunches. We ate that for dinner in a lettuce wrap.

WP_001196

Needless to say we have some things ready to go for the week! I also have at least a vague menu to follow. It really helps save money when I make a menu and really plan it out. I tend to waste a lot less. If you have time to meal plan you should try it and just what a difference it makes!

Leave a Reply

