Days 8-10

Sorry for the overdue post! I have been slacking a bit this week! I think I will be moving to an every other day set up for the posts because I feel like I don’t have enough material for every day. Don’t want it to feel too redundant or worse, boring. 🙂

Well Tuesday started off about the same as Monday, rushed! I have not been getting enough sleep. Probably because I’ve entered a terrible cycle of being so tired that I come home cook dinner and sit down to watch something and fall asleep for a bit. Then at 10pm when I need to go to sleep I’m all ready to go cause I accidentally took a power nap at 6pm. Going to try to break that cycle this week 😉

I ate the same breakfast Tuesday morning as I did on Monday, 2 eggs with avocado and tomato. For lunch, I had leftovers from dinner, chicken and kale.

All morning Tuesday, I was craving either like a pumpkin spice latte or just any kind of sugary coffee.. I almost justified getting a cup of coffee and putting stevia in it but I stopped myself. I found a nice treat at the co-op to rescue me though….

Image

Pumpkin pie larabar?! I was pretty excited about it. It wasn’t quite as good as I expected. It was dryer than the other ones I’ve tried. Don’t know if it was just the type or if it wasn’t fresh but it curbed my craving for something sweet. I have found these to be lifesavers so far.

I also had leftovers from dinner on Monday night, Chicken and Kale.

For dinner Tuesday night I made some taco Salad and it was delicious!

WP_001126WP_001128WP_001131     Yummmmy!

I don’t really measure things when I cook normally so I’m going to do my best to give you guys the recipe for this!

Whole 30 Taco Salad

1 lb ground turkey/hamburger

1/2 medium onion

1 medium red pepper

1 jalapeno pepper

1 ancho chili pepper

2-4 cloves of garlic ( I used one big elephant garlic clove)

Cumin (I would guess I used somewhere between 1 tsp and 1 tablespoon)

Paprika (probably about 1 tsp)

2 tablespoons olive oil (may not need that much)

1/4 -1/2 cup Salsa

salt and pepper to taste

 

In a skillet, heat up enough oil to saute the veggies. When the oil is hot add in the onion and peppers. Let them cook just long enough to soften up a bit. Add in the garlic for just a few minutes before adding the meat.  If you are using turkey rather than burger I would say to use a little extra oil at the beginning as it does not have enough fats in it to keep it from sticking. Add in meat and half of your seasonings. Cook until browned and then add the rest of the seasoning and the salsa. If it seems too dry you can add just a little water at this point.  Cook until everything is well incorporated.

The salad part is up to you. I used some spring mix and spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, cilantro and green onion and topped it with salsa!

 

Wednesday we were out of eggs so I made us some Monkey Salad for breakfast. For lunch I had to go to the Co-op. I got some soup that definitely had a little dairy in it but I just wasn’t feeling chicken and veggies so the soup was the next best decision! (Definitely better than the very yummy spinach and chicken alfredo pizza that I love from there), so I felt pretty good about that decision.

It was Hungarian mushroom soup and I had a left over boiled egg for some protein.

 

WP_001134

 

For dinner I had a slightly failed attempt at Paleo Meatloaf. It was ok.. but not something I would make again. I love good meatloaf occasionally but this just wasn’t up to my standards. I used a too lean ground turkey and the texture was weird with no bread crumbs. I wasn’t a fan.  I also made some mashed sweet potatoes and kale for sides.

WP_001136

 

Since Thursday was Halloween I gave myself a bit of cheat day. I have done pretty well at staying on track so I thought I would be fine to allow myself some things. We had a potluck at work so I had some gluten and dairy there but stayed away from it where I could. I felt like I still made some pretty good decisions.

Thursday night was the chili cook off in Makanda so I ate several different kinds of chili (Which have legumes so, not approved either) I also had some rum and cider. I still felt like I made healthier decisions and ate way less than I normally would have in the past on a day like Halloween so I still feel fine about allowing myself to go outside of the diet a bit yesterday.

This week I was definitely less prepared than last week and it showed. I slipped up a lot more and felt less motivated to stay on track. I plan on doing more of a menu this week and sticking to it so I don’t end up out of eggs, or end up having nothing to take for lunch or whatever else. One thing I have noticed is that I get headaches when I cheat. I don’t know what that’s about. I never realized I had issues with headaches before. It almost makes me wonder if something was always giving me a constant little headache in the past or if it’s just a result of being off the stuff for awhile.

I am happy to report that I weighed in at work yesterday and am down another 2.5 lbs since last week! That’s 5 1/2 lbs in about 10 days of the diet! Woot. It is nice to see the results especially with a diet like this because I’m limiting myself so much.  It’s totally worth it to finally see some weight coming off and having boosted energy levels as well as just feeling better all around. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

