Day 4 – Results and Motivation

Before I decided to start the Whole 30 diet I was struggling with a lot of things.  I was back at my heaviest weight after losing 30-40 lbs a couple of years ago and having kept most of it off for the last 2 years. I had a gained a bit of it back when Jason and I first started dating a little over a year ago but hadn’t gained more until I hurt my ankle this summer.  (I may have been involved in a slightly intoxicated barefoot foot race that ended with me running faster than I had control over and ended with my ankle giving out and me hitting the pavement and rolling to the finish line) It was pretty hilarious. However, the aftermath was pretty rough. I probably should have gone to see an orthopedic doctor but after they told me I didn’t break it, I figured it would get better with time and care.  It did. After about 2 months of almost no physical activity on it. That’s what I did with my summer, I put on the rest of the weight I had lost two years ago.

I’ve always been overweight. Pretty much since my family sent me to school for my first day of kindergarten, I started to get chubby.  I was thin as a rail before then but by Christmas break I was a little chubbykins. I don’t know if that says more about my lack of metabolism or the American public school system. Not that I haven’t gone through my fair share of unhealthy periods but for the last 4 years or so I have been living as if I were a thin person. I was eating pretty healthy. Had a moderately active lifestyle but always stayed within a 30 lb or so weight range. Needless to say, I was pretty thrilled when I lost that 30 lbs a couple of years ago.  I was absolutely not thrilled when I realized it had ALL found it’s way back this fall.

A few girls and I started a Biggest Loser challenge several weeks ago and I was eating healthier, working out more….. and….. NO RESULTS.  After several weeks of that I was ready to go talk to my doctor about it.  To be honest, I wanted the easy way out. I wanted pills and before I asked for them, she offered, but she said I needed to see the nutritionist first to see what I could do myself in a month and come back.  When I talked to the nutritionist she said that the Whole 30 diet is not something she would suggest for her every day patient as she spends most of her time listening to sob stories of her patients having to give up their favorite sugary drinks. She said since I was pretty informed and was already living a pretty healthy lifestyle that she thought it might be a good one for me. We also ruled out a lot of possible underlying causes. She thought gut health and inflammation may be a factor so it could be a good diet for me to try.

I have to say that I am 3.5 lbs down since my weigh-in last Friday and I couldn’t be more thrilled. It was exactly the motivation I needed to stay on the right track!  I can’t wait to see what results I will have in a month. (Mind you I’m only 4 days in, technically)  🙂

Today I ate leftover quiche and leftover spaghetti squash for breakfast and lunch.  For dinner, Jason and I decided to eat something that seemed like a treat.

I made bang bang shrimp and some fried zucchini coated with coconut flour and a salad.  (I wouldn’t recommend frying anything in coconut flour unless you can fry it all in one batch. It burns easily. I had to toss my oil after my second batch. So I fried the last bit of it all together as fast as i could. They turned out pretty tasty just stinks to waste coconut oil.)

WP_001102

I have a new recipe to try in the morning! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Looking forward to sharing it tomorrow.

I also get to go to my first yoga class tomorrow. I do a lot of yoga at home but have never actually gone to a class at a studio. Really looking forward to it!

Happy weekend people. Get out and enjoy the last bit of bearable weather this season!

Leave a Reply

